Hundreds of National Guard troops were called into Washington ahead of the impeachment and inauguration to reinforce security at the Capitol. There have been threats of more trouble from protestors around the nation's 50 state capitols as well as D.C.


Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell would not agree to bring back the chamber from recess for an emergency session for an impeachment trial.  Until House Speaker Nancy Pelosi sends the Articles of Impeachment to the Senate, proceedings cannot begin in the Senate.  McConnell has not ruled out voting to convict Trump in the event of a trial and has not made a final decision on how he could vote.


Following the impeachment vote, Trump condemned the violence at the U.S. Capitol last week. Earlier in the day Trump released a statement urging his supporters to remain peaceful and saying there must be No violence, No lawbreaking and No vandalism of any kind. He called on all Americans to help ease tensions and calm tempers as the country prepares for Biden's swearing in.


Trump is the first President to be impeached twice.

ORBA is "Connecting Communities" Throughout Ohio

A consortium of independent telcos and CLECs working together, sharing knowledge and

commonalities to promote and serve rural areas of Ohio


Copyright © Ohio Rural Broadband Association 2021      I     Website Design: After Dark Graphics